A few articles ago we discussed some best practices for managing your Facebook store. One of those ideas that we mentioned is that you should create a back-up of your Facebook store. Having a back-up of the listings is critical in the process of managing your store in the event you accidentally delete a product listing or all of your listings at once.
You have taken the time to input all of your product listings into the system whether it was done manually or whether you used the product feed features o export your products from your website store, Amazon, eBay, Etsy, etc. You have taken the time to make sure that your products are listed in the order you desire and that they each include 4 images so you can get the maximize exposure for each of your items. You have your Facebook store’s product listings just the way you want them to look within your Facebook shop. This is a considerable amount of work and we don’t want to lose this information.
In the event that someone unintentionally deletes a product listing or in an even more tragic event, deletes the whole product catalog, it is important that you have a backed-up version of your product listing files. This will enable you to retain your product listings and in the event any of them get deleted they can be quickly restored to your page. ShopTab has streamlined this process and in a matter of a few clicks you can easily update all of your files.
In order for you to back-up your files, login to your ShopTab account. Once you are in your admin panel you will see your product listings. On the bottom of that page is a green button that says “Download”. Once that file has downloaded be sure to save at least one copy of the file on your PC or on another server location.
Be sure that as you add new product listings to your catalog that you frequently download the new listing back-up so that you have an up-to-date back-up of your files. This will enable you to have all of your files updated and easily transferrable in the event your files are deleted by error.
If something ever happens and your current product listings are deleted you can upload your back-up file. You can upload this file under the Settings and Product Feed tab to manually upload this file.
Having the foresight to save your files in the event some are deleted could save you a lot of time and effort in the future. If a product listing gets deleted accidentally this means that it is not listed in your Facebook store and available for purchase. You want to make sure that you have all product listings readily available so if a deletion error occurs than you can quickly re-upload that listing and have it be available to your consumers again in a matter of minutes.